Back on the Bandwagon

So I’ve been repeatedly admitting on this ol’ blog that my exercise regime has been steadily waning. Call it a perfect storm: increased work load, the onset of winter (we’ve already had snow/slush/ice and that really puts a damper on running), perpetual social engagements revolving around food…you get the idea. Add a toddler who now views extended periods in her stroller as a reenactment of medieval torture, and there are some obvious reasons I’ve slacked off.

Thankfully, the hubby came through with an early Christmas surprise, gifting me with this sucker:

AC813Yoga_and_Pilates_Kit1__78597_zoom

See, last year, when we started on this lets-lose-weight-and-get-healthy train, I dove right in to using the 30-Day Shred. Aside from finding Jillian Michaels mildly annoying, I liked the videos. But the main downfall – I had no equipment. When I was doing jumping jacks on our laminate floor I was slipping and sliding around like a fool; I had no small hand weights for the various exercises/poses that call for them. So basically, I was pseudo-exercising (and still barely making it through the workout…how pitiful is that).

After a few weeks of aforementioned suffering I made a comment, in passing, that I desperately needed a workout mat. At that point, the weather improved and we started walking/running outside and I forgot all about this request. But my dear, sweet hubby took it to heart, and unbeknownst to me, has been looking around for a good deal on a set for months now.

He scored this week, and we each exchanged an early Christmas gift (to me the workout gear; to him a set of non-slip ice grippers for our winter walks – how romantic, eh).

So, tonight will mark my re-entry into the 30-Day Shred. I’ll let you know how it goes. If nothing else, Abby LOVES playing with the weights…so one of us will be fit by the end of it.

Linking up with The Domestic Wannabe for Move It Mondays

 

PS. I did do one 5K run+2K walk, and several other 2-3K walks this week, so all is not lost. I suppose I should note, however, that after the run+walk combo, I did go out for all-you-can-eat sushi.

9 thoughts on “Back on the Bandwagon

  1. I attempted the 30-day Shred as well. But I prefer her 6 Week abs and her yoga DVD. Not that I’m allowed to do any of those right now. Prenatal Yoga and walking it is for me until the baby comes!

    • I want to try some of her other videos this winter; so much easier than bundling up and heading outside. Maybe 6-Week Abs will be my next attempt! Thanks for the suggestion.
      I do find it hard to be motivated with videos. A few years ago I had a fitness pass to the gym and LOVED the different programs (like Boot Camp and 20/20/20), but I’m just too cheap to sign up again. Since there was an organized time for the classes, it was impossible to say “I’ll do it tomorrow.”

  2. I’ve never done the 30-day shred but I want to look for some sort of back up plan for days when getting to the gym just is not going to happen. I’ll to look into it!

    • I really enjoyed it last year when I started doing it; the video is easy to follow and they offer a range of difficulty. I’m interested to see how I do with it now that I’ve been exercising regularly for almost a year. Hopefully I notice a big improvement?!

  3. What a coincidence! I told my husband that I was going to pull out the 30 Day Shred again and start tomorrow. My Christmas present is a double jogging stroller (YAY!) but it is wrapped and under the tree. And apparently I’m going to be taped to be on TV in a month, so I have a month to get camera ready! EEK! So 30 Day Shred it is. Maybe we can help keep each other accountable.

    • Ha. Too funny. I planned to break it out tonight, but it’s just not going to happen. Tomorrow night it is! We can be virtual “shredding” buddies. I’ll message you tomorrow when I’ve finished.

      Cool about the interview – is this about blogging/Sobeys?

      What double jogger did you end up getting? Is it wide or deep?

      • The TV thing is something completely different. I will definitely share more about it as the time gets nearer. Right now I have to wait for all legal things to work itself out before I can really talk about it.

        I don’t know about the stroller – my husband was meaning to make it a surprise but it was mailed and “BICYCLE TRAILER” was written in large letters on the outside of the box. I couldn’t miss it. So, I haven’t seen it, but I do know it is one of the bike trailers/jogging strollers. I can’t wait to crack it open!

      • Exciting!

        You’ll love having the stroller; it definitely makes running more difficult, but at least it is doable, and it is great for intense walking. Too funny about the surprise: I inevitably end up finding out about every single surprise. Can’t blame your hubby for not being able to conceal a stroller, though! That’s one big item.

      • 🙂 He was playing up getting me a TV so that when the box came, I’d think it was a TV under the tree and be mad (our bedroom tv recently broke. We don’t need a new one, but it would be nice. However, he wants to move the big screen TV that works into the bedroom and get a bigger TV for the living room. I am SO not ok with that). Unfortunately for him, the ruse didn’t work. Fortunately for me though. I really thought the box was a TV when I first glanced at it and was kind of upset about it, until I saw it was a stroller.

Leave a comment