Shredding

So I started out with the best of intentions last week – with the hubby away for work, I had free evenings galore and planned to make good use of the time by exercising.

Tuesday evening I knocked out Level 1 of the 30 Day Shred. I first attempted these videos almost a year ago, and while I found them easy to follow and challenging enough, I just didn’t stick with it. Gearing up to exercise at home is not my forte. Running and walking seemed a better way to get in shape (and it has been), but now with the onset of winter AND some new exercise equipment, I think workout videos will be an important component of my routine.

If you’re interested in checking out the 30 Day Shred (or various other Jillian Michaels videos), there are lots of options on YouTube before you invest in the full DVD.

I was intrigued to see how a years worth of exercise (and about 35 fewer pounds) would affect the overall workout experience, and I was pleasantly surprised to notice a major improvement. Not only was I able to (easily) finish the workout, I didn’t need to take any breaks (last year I needed to break multiple times during the workout), I was able to complete the harder variation for every move (except on pushups because I just can’t seem to do those suckers), and still felt great when it was all finished.

The next morning I happened to jump on the scale and saw the lowest number in 4 years! It was a wonderful feeling…and I vowed to do the next level of the Shred the following day.

And then life happened. I was in a (minor) car accident; while I wasn’t hurt, the stress of dealing with the fallout and insurance and rental cars…and the overall exhaustion from the ordeal…well, understandably I didn’t touch the 30 Day Shred again. My plan is to do level 2 tonight, though…barring any catastrophe.

I did also do one short video by Tracy Anderson – it’s a bit odd, but surprisingly effective, and I’m thinking of mixing up videos from Jillian Michaels (I’ve heard 6 Week Abs is pretty good) and Tracy Anderson to give me some variation.

A friend stopped by last evening and spoke of attending fitness classes 4-5 times a week; I’ll admit I got very nostalgic, since I LOVED my experience with group fitness classes. But aside from the monetary consideration, I just don’t think I’d be able to fit it into my schedule frequently enough to make it worth while. Arranging for child-care (there is no space on site for kids), and working around lunch and supper times…I think I’ll have to keep doing it from home on my own.

This week:

Level 1 – 30 Day Shred (x1)

Tracy Anderson Arms Video

7 K walk (x2)

3 K walk (x2)

4 K walk (x1)

Total 14 K (pretty sad considering all summer, I typically walked 14 K EACH DAY!)

Linking up with The Domestic Wannabe for Move It Mondays

One thought on “Shredding

Leave a Reply

