Family Pictures

We never get pictures taken as a family. Maybe I’m trying so desperately to break the mold of my parents – Dad always made sure to corral us at every family function and get a group photo, always horrifically posed of course. I hated being in those pictures (now, looking at these gems is both funny [um, hello poofy bangs and tearaway pants] and nostalgic… it’s funny how Mom and Dad’s insight seems so much more wise the older I get). Not surprisingly, it’s usually Abby in front of the camera, and in the rare case John and I enter pictures, it’s generally only one of us (while the other mans the camera).

Desperate for one picture to send with holiday cards, we met up with a friend living locally (thanks, Ingrid) who has a great camera. She takes incredible nature photos and the ones she’s captured while working on Sable Island are National Geographic quality.

Unfortunately, it was freezing outside, the lighting was horrible, and Abby was in a terrible mood. Just keeping it real…but we did manage to squeeze out a few pictures before there was an epic meltdown. And since our only fee was a home-cooked supper for Ingrid, we’ll take what we got happily!

Enjoy a few of the pictures she captured – I’ll save the best for Christmas card season. Please note Abby’s dour expression in almost every photo…I tried every trick in our arsenal including her beloved “Zoom, Zoom” song {complete with actions I might add} to no avail. If only “Gree” (Grampie) had been there.

PS. There are quite a few pictures here…this is likely a post best {perhaps, only} appreciated by grandparents!

Check out Little Miss Sour Puss

An out-take while Abby stuffs her face with raisins. As a general rule of thumb: a) Abby doesn’t snack b) I don’t use food as a reward. Based on her moody performance, I decided to play the food card. Nada. After she was done eating, she was still having none of the picture taking AND she wanted more raisins.

To keep it real…

 

In case you’re wondering…we were looking at Abby playing merrily off in the distance (as far away from the camera as she could get).

And one last sweet one to even it all out.

Stay tuned for our top pick at Christmas time. Thanks, Ingrid!

2 thoughts on “Family Pictures

  1. My dear Elizabeth. I read what you wrote and realized. You know ABBY is beautiful anyway: SMILING, Crying or serious. I LOVE IT SO MUCH … Every night I come to the computer to look at her picture and crying often missed because he liked to hold her in my arms. Thank you for having given to the world and all of us that this girl is loved by all. I hope the video that you pitchers for me to wrap myself in the days of greatest suffering. I love you and John and ABBY is always present in our lives. Kisses and friendship of your great aunt MILU

Leave a Reply

